The Ohio Victims of Crime Compensation Program helps victims with certain out-of pocket expenses caused when people are physically injured, emotionally harmed, or killed as a result of violent criminal acts. Program costs are paid entirely by criminal fines and not by Ohio’s taxpayers.

Eligibility Checklist

If you answer "yes" to all these questions, you may be eligible for help from this program:

  • Is the application is being filed within 2 years of the date of the crime? Minors have until their 20th birthday to file for compensation.
  • Was the crime was reported within 72 hours and did the victim cooperate with the reasonable requests of law enforcement?
  • The victim was not committing a criminal act that caused or contributed to the injuries?
  • The victim has no collateral source of payment for the compensation they are seeking?

Ineligible Persons

  • The offender
  • Anyone who committed a felony within 10 years prior to the crime that caused the injury
  • Anyone who commits a felony between the time of filing an application for compensation and receiving any compensation
  • Anyone injured while incarcerated

Paid Costs

  • Medical and related expenses
  • Counseling for family members of victims (up to $2,500 each)
  • Wages lost from not being able to work
  • Replacement services
  • Crime scene clean-up (up to $750)
  • Evidence replacement (up to $750)
  • Funeral expenses (up to $5,000)
  • Income or services the victim can no longer provide to dependents because the victim is deceased

Compensation Limits

Compensation cannot be paid for stolen, damaged, or lost property, or for pain and suffering. Compensation is not paid for costs that are payable by other sources.